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Child Passenger Safety Week Highlights   

Importance of Making Sure Your Child is in the Right Seat 

 
Santa Ana, Ca. (September 12, 2024): During Child Passenger Safety Week, the Orange 
County Sheriff’s Department encourages all parents and caregivers to make sure their children 
are riding safely by using the correct car seats, booster seats and properly fitted seat belts. This 
annual campaign takes place from September 15-21 and aims to raise awareness about the 
importance of car seat safety and proper installation. 
 
“Every child deserves to travel safely,” Orange County Sheriff’s Department Sergeant Kyle Ishii 
said. “During Child Passenger Safety Week, we urge all parents and caregivers to take a few 
minutes to double-check their child’s car seat. Keeping a child in the right seat for their age and 
size can make all the difference in a crash.” 
 
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), nearly half of car seats 
(46%) are misused. Properly installed car seats have been shown to reduce fatal injury crashes 
by 71% for infants under a year old and by 54% for toddlers ages 1 through 4. 
 
California law requires all children under 2 years old to ride in a rear-facing car seat, unless the 
child is 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall. Once a child reaches these milestones, 
all children under the age of 8 years are still required to be secured in a car seat or booster seat. 
Children under the age of 8 may not ride in the front seat unless the vehicle is not equipped with 
a rear, forward-facing seat. Children 8 and older, or who are at least 4 feet 9 inches tall, may be 
secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be wearing a properly fitted safety belt. 
 
Parents and caregivers are encouraged to keep children in the proper rear or forward-facing seat 
as long as possible and use the “Five-Step Test” to determine if their child is big enough to safely 
use a seat belt without a booster seat. 
 
To schedule a free child safety seat inspection, contact your local CHP Area Office. 
 
Funding for distracted driving enforcement is provided by a grant from the California Office of 

Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 
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https://www.chp.ca.gov/programs-services/programs/child-safety-seats
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/SACB/CDPH%20Document%20Library/Child%20Passenger%20Safety%20Program%20(VOSP)/ChildSafetyBrochure_EngVer2023.pdf
https://www.chp.ca.gov/find-an-office

