#### CALIFORNIA LAW AND VICTIMS RIGHTS

California law provides crime victims with important rights. If you are the victim of crime, you may be entitled to the assistance of a victim advocate who can answer many of the questions you might have about the criminal justice system.

Victim Advocates can assist you with the following:

- Explaining what information you are entitled to receive while proceedings are pending.
- Assisting you in applying for restitution to compensate you for crime-related losses.
- Communicating with the prosecution.
- Assisting you in receiving victim support services.
- Helping you prepare a victim impact statement before an offender is sentenced.

To speak with a victim advocate, please contact your local Victim/Witness office listed on the back of this brochure.

#### GENERAL VIOLENT CRIME INFORMATION

- If you have reported your crime to the police, an Investigator will be assigned to your case and will contact you as soon as possible.
- VINE (Victim Information Notification Everyday) is a system designed to automatically notify victims by phone when their perpetrator is released from a jail in Orange County. The service is free of charge. To register for this service please call 800-721-8021 or visit the website at www.vinelink.com
- If you were injured or someone in your family was injured or died as a result of a crime, you may qualify for compensation by the State of California Compensation Board. Financial compensation may be paid for lost wages, medical bills, counseling expenses, and funeral/burial assistance. For more information please contact your local Victim/Witness office listed on the back of this brochure. You may also call the California Victims' Compensation Board at 800-777-9229 or visit www.victims.ca.gov.

## COMMUNITY RESOURCES FOR CRIME VICTIMS IN ORANGE COUNTY

## Counseling, Victim Compensation Information & Referrals:

North Justice Center Victim/Witness:	714-773-4575
Central Justice Center Victim/Witness:	714-834-4350
West Justice Center Victim/Witness:	714-896-7188
Lamoreaux Justice Center - Orange:	714-935-7074
Harbor Justice Center - Newport Beach:	949-476-4855

#### **Resources for Sexual Assault Victims:**

Sexual Assault Victim Services:	714-834-4317
	949-752-1971
24-hour Sexual Assault Hotline:	<i>7</i> 14- 957-2737
	949-831-9110

#### Resources for Domestic Violence Victims:

Adult/Elder Abuse Hotline:	800-451-5155
Domestic Violence Assistance Program:	714-935-7956
Human Options:	949-737-5242
Interval House:	714-891-8121
Laura's House 24-hour Hotline:	866-498-1511
Women's Transitional Living Center:	877-531-5522
Domestic Violence Hotline:	800-799-7233
Domestic Violence Hotline (Hearing Impaired	d): 855-812-1001

#### **Resources for Child Abuse Reporting:**

Contact your local Sheriff/Police Department or

OC Child Abuse Registry Hotline: 800-207-4464

714-940-1000

#### **Internet Resources:**

Victim Services:	waymakersoc.org
OC Sheriff's Department:	ocsheriff.gov
OC District Attorney's Office:	orangecountyda.org
State of CA Victim Compensation	Program: victims.ca.gov
CA Department of Justice:	aaa.ca.aov/victimservices

## Domestic Violence & Violent Crime

**Victim Information** 



### ORANGE COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT

Family Protection Detail 550 N. Flower Street Santa Ana, CA 92703 714-647-7419

Deputy:	
Date:	
Time:	
Report #:	

# A Message from the Sheriff

As a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or other violent crime, you are entitled to certain rights and information regarding the criminal investigation of your case.

This pamphlet is designed to assist you as you seek justice and recovery. Information on legal resources and health care facilities is provided. Most importantly, this pamphlet details your rights as a victim and serves as your first record of contact with the Orange County Sheriff's Department.

If you have any questions regarding your case or your rights as a crime victim, please feel free to contact the Orange County Sheriff's Department at (714) 647-7489.

Don Barnes Sheriff-Coroner



#### **DOMESTIC VIOLENCE**

- A physical assault committed by a person with whom you have an existing or previous dating or marital relationship with is a crime.
- If you were the victim of strangulation, you could have internal injuries. Symptoms are sometimes delayed, and may occur within 72 hours. Do not wait, seek immediate medical attention or call 911.
- As a victim of domestic violence, your name, address and personal identifying information can be kept confidential.
- If your perpetrator went to jail, he or she may be released at anytime. See General Violent Crime Information section for more information.
- Victims of domestic violence may be eligible for temporary placement in a shelter. The phone number for your local shelters are listed on the back of this brochure.
- As a victim of domestic violence, you have the right to have an advocate and/or support person of your choice to be present with you during any further interviews as it relates to this crime.
- In the State of CA, victims are not responsible for "pressing charges" and the decision to file a formal complaint will be made by the DA's Office.
- As a victim of domestic violence, you may request a temporary restraining order that:
  - Restrains the perpetrator from hurting you, your children or family members involved.
  - 2. Directs the perpetrator to leave the home.
  - Prevents the perpetrator from going to the workplace, school or other location based on the situation.
  - 4. Awards custody of or visitation with a minor child and protects the child(ren) from the perpetrator.
  - 5. Directs child support of minor children and other financial responsibilities.
  - 6. Directs that either or both parties participate in counseling.
- As a victim of domestic violence, you have the right to file a civil suit for losses suffered as a result of the crime.

#### **SEXUAL ASSAULT**

If you are the victim of a sexual assault, it is important to follow certain steps to ensure your safety and facilitate a thorough investigation.

#### If you have been victimized:

- In addition to notifying the police, you may call Sexual Assault Victim Services or the local rape crisis center, at (714) 957-2737 or (949) 831-9110.
- Do not change or wash your clothes, take a shower, bathe, wash your hands, douche, comb your hair, eat or drink anything. Do not touch, move, destroy, or discard anything where the crime occurred.
- As a victim of sexual assault, you have the right to have an advocate and/or support person of your choice with you during the interview and medical procedures.
- If you can recall any details about your assault, write them down right away. Include details such as name of perpetrator, race, age, weight, height and what the person was wearing. If a car was involved in the crime, write down the make, model, color, license plate number, and any other information you can remember.
- Depending on the circumstances of what happened you may be asked to go to the Anaheim Regional Medical Center for a forensic exam. A trained Forensic Nurse Specialist and Sexual Assault Advocate will be with you during and after the exam.
- As a victim of a sexual assault, your name, address and other personal identifying information can be kept confidential.
- A sexual assault committed by someone you have an existing or previous dating or marital relationship with is a crime.