ORANGE COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT

Training Bulletin

Restraining Orders During COVID-19

On April 6, 2020, the Judicial Council of California adopted Emergency Rules to take effect across the State of California. These Emergency Rules are <u>temporary</u> and will expire 90 days after the Governor lifts the State of Emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic, or until amended or repealed by the Judicial Council.

Emergency Rule 8, addressing Temporary Restraining or Protective Orders, is in effect <u>now</u>. The changes apply to any Emergency Protective Order (EPO), Temporary Restraining Order (TRO), or Criminal Protective Order (CPO) that was requested, issued or set to expire during the current state of emergency.

Law Enforcement Emergency Protective Order Requests under Family Code § 6250

Previously, Emergency Protective Orders under Family Code § 6250 expired at the close of business on the fifth court business day after issuance, or on the seventh calendar day, whichever comes first. Now, while the Emergency Rules are in effect, any Emergency Protective Order that is issued or set to expire during the state of emergency must remain in effect <u>30 days from the date of issuance</u>.

All other procedures and contact information for an Emergency Protective Order outlined in FOM Section 55 remain unchanged.

Current Criminal Protective Orders, Restraining Orders or Protective Orders

Any Criminal Protective Order set to expire during the state of emergency, will be <u>automatically extended for 90 days, or</u> <u>until the matter can be heard, whichever occurs first</u>.

Any Temporary Restraining Order or Gun Violence Restraining Order (GVRO) issued or set to expire during the state of emergency will be <u>extended for 90 days</u> to allow for a hearing on the long-term order to occur.

Any Restraining Order or Protective Order <u>after hearing</u> that is set to expire during the state of emergency will be automatically <u>extended for 90 days</u> from the date of expiration to enable a protected party to seek a renewal of the restraining order.

Public Requests for Temporary Restraining Orders or Gun Violence Restraining Orders

Previously, deputies advised persons requesting a Temporary Restraining Order to go to the Lamoreaux Justice Center, during normal court hours. See FOM Section 55. During the state of emergency, with the closure of the courts deputies should advise the public as follows:





For Civil Harassment Temporary Restraining Order or Gun Violence Restraining Order, a member of the public can request it either via email or by paper filing as follows:

- Email: Submit applicable forms/petitions to <u>CivilUrgent@occourts.org</u>
- Paper: Submit applicable forms/petitions in person at Central Justice Center via the drop box by the front entrance

For Family Law related restraining orders, Court has provided an email address and direct line to the public to receive help with electronic submissions, <u>efiling@occourts.org</u> and (657) 622-6504. Self Help Services will be available onsite at Central Justice Center or <u>http://www.occourts.org/self-help/ or via phone at (657) 622-8511.</u>

Faxing Teletype and Entry of orders into California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System

During the state of emergency, the court may issue or modify CPOs, TROs, and GVROs on Judicial Council forms or in another format. The process of faxing teletype has not changed. Deputies must send <u>any</u> orders issued by a court modifying the duration or expiration date to the Department of Justice through the California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS).

