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DUI Checkpoint in San Clemente this weekend 

 

San Clemente, Ca. (May, 31 2018) – Members of the Orange County Sheriff’s DUI Enforcement Team will hold 

a DUI and Driver’s License Checkpoint this weekend to stop and arrest alcohol and drug-impaired drivers as 

part of the department’s ongoing traffic safety campaign.   

The checkpoint will be held from 7 p.m. on Friday, June 1, to 3 a.m. Saturday, June 2.  

High Visibility Enforcement using both DUI checkpoints and DUI Saturation Patrols have proven to lower the 

number of persons killed and injured in alcohol or drug impaired crashes.  Research shows that crashes 

involving an impaired driver can be reduced by up to 20 percent when well-publicized proactive DUI operations 

are conducted routinely.  

In California, alcohol-involved collisions led to 1,155 deaths and nearly 24,000 injuries in 2014 because 

someone failed to designate a sober driver.   

Officers will be looking for signs of alcohol and/or drug impairment.  When possible, specially trained officers 

will be available to evaluate those suspected of drug-impaired driving, which now accounts for a growing 

number of impaired driving crashes.   

In recent years, California has seen a disturbing increase in drug-impaired driving crashes.  The OCSD 

supports the new effort from the Office of Traffic Safety that aims to educate all drivers that “DUI Doesn’t Just 

Mean Booze.”  If you take prescription drugs, particularly those with a driving or operating machinery warning 

on the label, you might be impaired enough to get a DUI.  Marijuana can also be impairing, especially in 

combination with alcohol or other drugs, and can result in a DUI. 

Studies of California drivers have shown that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had one or more drugs in 

their systems.  A study of active drivers showed more tested positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 

percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 percent).  Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly 

more than alcohol. Everyone should be mindful that if you’re taking medication – whether prescription or over-

the-counter – drinking even small amounts of alcohol can greatly intensify the impairment affects.   

 



 
Drivers are encouraged to download the Designated Driver VIP, or “DDVIP,” free mobile app for Android or 

iPhone.  The DDVIP app helps find nearby bars and restaurants that feature free incentives for the designated 

sober driver, from free non-alcoholic drinks to free appetizers and more.  The feature-packed app even has 

social media tie-ins and even a tab for the non-DD to call Uber, Lyft or Curb. 

The cost of a ride home is cheap!  Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to 

include jail time, fines, fees, DUI classes, license suspensions and other expenses that can exceed $10,000 

not to mention the embarrassment when friends and family find out. 

Funding for this DUI operation is provided to the Orange County Sheriff’s Department by a grant from the 

California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding 

everyone to ‘Report Drunk Driver – Call 9-1-1’.  
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